Tuesday , April 16 2024

Asia’s best honoured in spectacular ceremony in Muscat!

After another year of remarkable progress for Asian football, the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) celebrated the Continent’s most exceptional achievements in a dazzling 2018 AFC Annual Awards ceremony in Muscat, Oman on Wednesday.

Al Sadd’s Abdelkarim Hassan claimed the coveted AFC Player of the Year Award while China’s Wang Shuang clinched the top accolade in the women’s category.

Wang, who joined her illustrious China compatriots Ma Xiaoxu and Bai Jie in winning the award, said, “I would like to thank the AFC for this remarkable award. It really means a lot to win this. I want to thank my country, the Chinese Football Association and my national teammates for putting their faith in me and always encouraging me to dream big.”

Hassan, who was instrumental in Al Sadd’s march to the 2018 AFC Champions League semifinals, added, “The true heroes are my teammates both for club and country. This award is added motivation for us to give our best each time we enter the field. And I must also thank our fans who continue to serve as an inspiration for all of us.”

AFC president Shaikh Salman bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa said, “We celebrate and applaud all our winners tonight who have work tirelessly to raise the bar each year. Asian football continues to attain world-class achievements, and this is a testament to our players, teams and Member Associations.”

“We congratulate them all and all those nominated, and we thank our host the Oman Football Association and the Omani government for staging a truly memorable celebration in this wonderful city of Muscat.”

Kashima Antlers’ Go Oiwa who guided his side to their maiden AFC Champions League title earlier this month was duly rewarded with the 2018 AFC Men’s Coach of the Year award, while AFC Women’s Asian Cup Jordan 2018 winning coach Asako Takakura confirmed her legendary status in women’s football with her sixth AFC Women’s Coach of the Year award.

Iran’s status as a global force in world futsal was further underlined after Ali Asghar Hasanzadeh, who was part of the Iran side which finished third in the 2016 FIFA Futsal World Cup, landed his fourth AFC Futsal Player of the Year accolade.

Former AFC acting president Zhang Jilong was bestowed with the Continent’s highest accolade – the AFC Diamond of Asia Award – in recognition for his incredible service and leadership over the last four decades to Chinese and Asian football.

AFC Annual Awards 2018 Roll of Honour

AFC Diamond of Asia: Zhang Jilong (CHI)

AFC President’s Special Recognition Award:
Futoshi Ikeda (JPN)
Wild Boars FC (THA)

AFC Member Association of the Year:
Inspiring: Japan Football Association
Developing: DPR Korea Football Association
Aspiring: Mongolian Football Federation

AFC President Recognition Award for Grassroots Football:
Inspiring Member Association: Chinese Football Association
Developing Member Association: Football Association of Singapore
Aspiring Member Association: Palestine Football Association

AFC Futsal Player of the Year: Ali Asghar Hasanzadeh (IRN)

AFC Coach of the Year:
Women: Asako Takakura (JPN)
Men: Go Oiwa (JPN)

AFC Women’s Player of the Year: Wang Shuang (CHI)

AFC Player of the Year: Abdelkarim Hassan (QAT)

Awards not presented in Muscat:

AFC Referees Special Award:
Alireza Faghani (IRN)
Reza Sokhandan (IRN)
Mohammadreza Mansouri (IRN)

AFC Youth Player of the Year:
Women: Saori Takarada (JPN)
Men: Turki Al Amar (KSA)

AFC Asian International Player of the Year: Makoto Hasebe (Eintracht Frankfurt, JPN)

About Press Release

Check Also

Thrilling AFC Futsal Asian Cup 2024 to kick off in Thailand!

The Continent’s top 16 teams will embark on a quest for ultimate supremacy on the …