Sunday , September 25 2022

Germany Women’s squad announced for 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup qualifiers!

In total 21 players, who were in the UEFA European Championship 2022 final at Wembley just over three weeks ago, have been called up to the national team by Martina Voss-Tecklenburg for the two remaining 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup qualifiers.

Only Marina Hegering (VfL Wolfsburg – foot injury) and Ann-Katrin Berger (Chelsea FC – personal reasons) will be absent for the away matches against Turkey (September 3, 14:45 CEST) and Bulgaria (September 6, 18:30 CEST). Dzsenifer Marozsan (torn cruciate ligament) and Melanie Leupolz (preganancy) are other absentees.

Martina Tufekovic, Jana Feldkamp (both TSG Hoffenheim) and Sjoeke Nüsken (Eintracht Frankfurt), on the other hand, have been called up to the 24-player squad.

Martina Voss-Tecklenburg said, “The weeks during the European Championship were intense and exhausting for all of us, but also incredibly impressive. Our batteries are now by-and-large recharged, and now we want to the momentum from the Euros into these World Cup Qualifiers. We have a clear goal to end qualification with two wins and by putting in convincing performances on the pitch.”

The DFB team is currently top of group H, three points ahead of Serbia. Only the group winners qualify directly for the FIFA Women’s World Cup. The tournament will be held in Australia and New Zealand from July 20 to August 20, 2023. For the first time, 32 nations will take part.


Merle Frohms (Eintracht Frankfurt), Almuth Schult (VfL Wolfsburg), Martina Tufekovic (1899 Hoffenheim)

Sara Doorsoun (Eintracht Frankfurt), Jana Feldkamp (1899 Hoffenheim), Giulia Gwinn (Bayern München), Kathrin Hendrich (VfL Wolfsburg), Sophia Kleinherne (Eintracht Frankfurt), Felicitas Rauch (VfL Wolfsburg)

Nicole Anyomi (Eintracht Frankfurt), Jule Brand (TSG Hoffenheim), Klara Bühl (Bayern München), Linda Dallmann (Bayern München), Laura Freigang (Eintracht Frankfurt), Svenja Huth (VfL Wolfsburg), Lena Lattwein (VfL Wolfsburg), Sydney Lohmann (Bayern München), Lina Magull (Bayern München), Lena Oberdorf (VfL Wolfsburg), Alexandra Popp (VfL Wolfsburg), Lea Schüller (Bayern München), Tabea Waßmuth (VfL Wolfsburg)

About Press Release

Check Also

Benjamin Henrichs replaces injured Marco Reus in Germany squad for UEFA Nations League!

Borussia Dortmund captain Marco Reus has been ruled out of Germany’s upcoming UEFA Nations League …