Sunday , February 25 2024

Los Angeles FC win first-ever MLS Cup, defeating Philadelphia Union in a penalty shootout!

The Los Angeles Football Club won the first MLS Cup in club history, defeating the Philadelphia Union 3-0 in a penalty-kick shootout after the game was tied at 3-3 after extra time.

LAFC goalkeeper John McCarthy was named the 2022 MLS Cup MVP presented by Audi after substituting on in the 117th minute and saving two penalties in the shootout. Capping off a terrific season, LAFC became the second team since 2012 to win MLS Cup and the Supporters’ Shield in the same season.

The club is the 15th different team to win MLS Cup and the ninth different winner in the past decade. With the victory, Steve Cherundolo became the only first-year head coach to win MLS Cup since Piotr Nowak for D.C. United in 2004.

LAFC is the fourth team in MLS history to win MLS Cup after producing 67-or-more points in the regular season.

About Press Release

Check Also

Sporting Director Lutz Pfannenstiel signs new St. Louis CITY SC deal!

St. Louis CITY SC’s Sporting Director Lutz Pfannenstiel signed an extension with the club that …