Friday , December 2 2022

Germany name squad for 2022 FIFA World Cup!

Germany head coach Hansi Flick announced his 26-man squad for the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar at the DFB Campus in Frankfurt on Thursday, November 10. 2014 FIFA World Cup winner Manuel Neuer will captain the team at what will be his fourth appearance at the FIFA World Cup finals.

Strikers Youssoufa Moukoko (Borussia Dortmund) and Niclas Füllkrug (Werder Bremen) have been called up to the senior squad for the first time. FIFA World Cup winner Mario Götze (Eintracht Frankfurt) also returns to the team, having last featured for Germany in a 2-2 draw against France in November 2017 (63 caps total).

Next to Neuer, the most-capped players in the squad are his club teammates Thomas Müller (118 caps) and Joshua Kimmich (70), followed by Mario Götze (63) and Ilkay Gündoğan (62).

Germany will travel to Oman this coming Monday, November 14 in order to play one final friendly ahead of the FIFA World Cup. The game will take place on Wednesday, November 16 at 18:00 CET.

The team will travel to Doha on November 17 ahead of their first group stage game against Japan on November 23 at the Khalifa International Stadium in al-Rayyan (14:00 CET). They will then face Spain on November 27 (20:00 CET) at the Al-Bayt Stadium in al-Chaur, before closing out Group E on December 1 against Costa Rica (20:00 CET).


Manuel Neuer (FC Bayern München), Marc-André ter Stegen (FC Barcelona), Kevin Trapp (Eintracht Frankfurt)

Armel Bella-Kotchap (Southampton FC), Matthias Ginter (SC Freiburg), Christian Günter (SC Freiburg), Thilo Kehrer (West Ham United), Lukas Klosterman (RB Leipzig), David Raum (RB Leipzig), Antonio Rüdiger (Real Madrid), Nico Schlotterbeck (Borussia Dortmund), Niklas Süle (Borussia Dortmund)

Karim Adeyemi (Borussia Dortmund), Julian Brandt (Borussia Dortmund), Niclas Füllkrug (Werder Bremen), Serge Gnabry (FC Bayern München), Leon Goretzka (FC Bayern München), Mario Götze (Eintracht Frankfurt), Ilkay Gündogan (Manchester City), Kai Havertz (FC Chelsea), Jonas Hofmann (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Joshua Kimmich (FC Bayern München), Youssoufa Moukoko (Borussia Dortmund), Thomas Müller (FC Bayern München), Jamal Musiala (FC Bayern München), Leroy Sané (FC Bayern München)

About Arunava Chaudhuri

Check Also

Germany to fly with Lufthansa’s Fanhansa with Diversity Wins slogan to Oman camp!

For reasons of sustainability, the German national team will travel by scheduled flight to its …