Wednesday , July 8 2020
Home / Indian Football / I-League / Chennai City FC take pole position in I-League awards!

Chennai City FC take pole position in I-League awards!

Newly-crowned champions of India, Chennai City FC, were awarded the I-League trophy in a ceremony in Chennai on Wednesday, March 20.

Chennai City FC, who had wowed the fans with their exciting brand of football, pipped Kolkata giants East Bengal by just one point, in yet another race to the finish that lasted till the final day of the season.

“We have put Tamil Nadu football in the map with this win, and I’m very happy that the state is getting the recognition. Also, I’m delighted that more and more local players have come through and won the I-League medal,” said Chennai City co-owner Rohith Ramesh.

The I-League trophy was handed over to the Coimbatore-based club by All India Football Federation General Secretary Kushal Das and I-League CEO Sunando Dhar.

Mr. Das stressed on the importance of strategic planning that got the club to the title. He said, “Chennai City FC’s triumph this season has been a true testament of their planning, strategising and execution. I, on the behalf of the AIFF, would like to congratulate Rohith Ramesh and the entire Chennai City FC for their achievement, that too only in their third year in the top flight of Indian Football.”

Mr. Dhar marvelled at the fact that a club that was formed a little over three years back, has been able to topple the traditional giants of the game and gone on to win the prestigious title.

“It’s a stupendous achievement by the club, to win the I-League trophy within just three-and-a-half years of its existence. I would like to send my heartiest congratulations to the owners, club management, and the players for this brilliant win,” he said.

Along with the I-League trophy, the individual and the club awards for the season was also announced.

List of awards for I-League 2018/19

I-League Fair Play Award: Shillong Lajong FC

Highest Scorer of I-League: Willis Plaza (Churchill Brothers) & Pedro Manzi (Chennai City FC)

Best Goalkeeper: Bilal Khan (Real Kashmir FC)

Jarnail Singh Best Defender Award: Roberto Eslava (Chennai City FC)

I-League Best Half (Midfielder) Award: Nestor Jesus Gordillo (Chennai City FC)

I-League Best Forward Award: Pedro Manzi (Chennai City FC)

Syed Abdul Rahim Best Coach Award: Akbar Nawas (Chennai City FC)

Hero of the League: Pedro Manzi (Chennai City FC)

Best Home Match Organisers: East Bengal Club

I-League Emerging Player: Gaurav Bora (Chennai City FC)

About Press Release

Check Also

TRAU FC sign talented midfielder Cleaven Hmar!

I-League side Tiddim Road Athletic Union (TRAU) FC have announced the signing of versatile midfielder …